Minimalism: To A Better Place

minus
Photo from the Minimalists

I look back months from now: I’m left astonished to be in a better place, to finally be moving intentionally on my own pace.

Ultimately, what minimalism gave me was clarity of what’s truly important, ditching all the unimportant.

It brought me back to possibilities I wouldn’t have cared to explore.

I’m glad I took the plunge because from that point –

I prioritized my health. In college, it would have only mattered that I ate. Now it matters to me that I eat deliberately. I’ve felt the perks. In 2014, I got hospitalized twice. I also often get severe cough and colds. Now, I haven’t been sick a year since I began cooking my own food and getting quality sleep.

It’s not meant to be a complicated affair with food; it only needs to be simple and intentional. How? Educating ourselves is the first step. Only then can we make deliberate choices. Studies have pointed that the culprit for most metabolic diseases is refined sugar. I decided then to reduce it along with my overall carbohydrate intake. A few months into my experiment, I got my Hba1c, and it registered 5.5%. Just a mere 0.2 and I’m pre-diabetic. I was taken aback because I was eating less carbs – or so I thought. This knowledge has encouraged me to be resolved for change. My body has only me to rely on.

I appreciated exercise.  In college, I jogged in my dreams. In 2015, my days have been filled with movement. My body feels lighter and grateful for this commitment. Sticking to this lifestyle required work at first, but once the habit was built, loopholes were identified, it was easier to return and get on my shoes.

It’s easy to be intimated with results. Our culture loves outcomes. However, for us to actually see changes, we need to concentrate on small deliberate actions. That’s how every feat is accomplished.

I thrived with less. I jettisoned most of my clothes and some of my lifelong stuff. As the Minimalists always say, though: purging is only the first step. Digging deeper, I realized that physically removing the clutter in my life helped me realize what’s important. I was surprised they’re not things at all. I am happy to have reclaimed my focus, time and energy.

I started to write. I was always paralyzed with fear it reflected on my lousy pacifiers. I can proudly say, though, that one book changed my life. It was Elizabeth Gilbert’s Big Magic. It was soulful and written in a voice devoid of judgment – only magical, compelling thoughts.

Today, I write and share what interests me. It’s freeing.

I disconnected to focus. Superheroes point to the same rare gem: focus. These days it can be a losing battle if we fail to structure our days. But once you know, again, what matters to you and your one life, it is easier to say no to the urgent and unimportant. To not get swayed with society’s trades and tides, but to channel one’s energy to the few that matter the most.

 

Like this article? Give it a share. It helps to reach more people like you. Thank you for reading.

You can also find me on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

