5 Insights I Needed To Learn

  1. Change is impossible without action. We can whittle the days, plan and wish all we want in our heads, but the truth will never change: it can only happen if we actually do it. We don’t have to kid ourselves. There are no in-betweens.
  2. We don’t have to wait for perfection. It’s irrational to seek for perfection because nothing is ever impervious to criticism. Before I started this blog, I thought I needed to be perfect first – I needed to have that catchy story, that kickass vocabulary, and that epic writing skills that can push people to action. In reality, I only needed to extinguish my fears and start doing it.
  3. Slowing down means we’re not missing out. Recently, I found myself always rushing things: the dinner I cook, the things I say, the thoughts I want to write. Most of the time they don’t pan out right; I wished I had slowed down so I could focus. I did, and savored the process more. The dinner is sumptuous, I communicate with intentionality, and convey thoughts to the point.
  4. It is good to consume – deliberately. In this age, stimulus is everywhere. We are always prompted to react to whatever is brewing in our white screen – latest posts, tweets, selfies, viral videos, name it. I find that it is helpful to allow ourselves to filter and choose only those voices we find value from. Otherwise, it can be too much that instead of feeling full, we feel empty.
  5. We can be successful everyday. Success can mean different things to different people. For some, it is a milestone that is eventually reached. That is, putting incremental action towards a goal. To me, success can be lived every moment. It is enjoying myself and consciously devoting that 24 hours that we all have to things that we truly love.

 

Like this article? Give it a share. It helps to reach more people like you. Thank you for reading.

You can also find me on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

